‘The Eastern Fells’ completed

August 15, 2012

Birkhouse Moor's 'official' summit

Cairn on Birkhouse Moor’s ‘official’ summit – Catstycam behind

A straightforward, half-day’s walk yesterday (Tuesday 14th August), walk 61, saw me bag two more fells, Catstycam (the highest one I had left) and Birkhouse Moor. Two completions to note – Catstycam completes all the top 10 highest fells in Lakeland (indeed, I’ve now done all the top 16) and I also finished off Wainwright’s volume 1, The Eastern Fells.

As of today then, I have bagged 193 of the 214 Wainwrights, thus have 21 to go. I have walked a total of 617.45 miles and ascended approximately 181,087 feet.

2 Responses to “‘The Eastern Fells’ completed”

  1. Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I
    truly enjoy reading through your posts. Can you suggest any
    other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics?
    Thanks for your time!

    • Drew Whitworth said

      Thanks for your compliment Jarrett. To tell the truth I don’t know of any other web sites that cover the Lake District in the detail I have been trying to. A Google search reveals http://www.lakedistrict-walks.co.uk/ which is not far off, however. http://www.ukhillwalking.com is an online magazine which will have various links though it does have an orientation towards harder stuff, rock climbing I mean, rather than hiking.

Leave a Reply

