Longest remaining walk done, 11 fells to go

September 1, 2012

Dead tree in Wet Sleddale

Dead tree, near Green Farm in Wet Sleddale

This summer we grab what good weather we can. Although the blue skies you see in this picture only lasted the morning, it was nonetheless a much more pleasant day than we have had of late and I grabbed the opportunity to complete the only one of my remaining walks that was a particularly long one. Walk 65 saw me on the far eastern side of the district, picking up two fairly obscure fells (Branstree and Selside Pike) on an interesting walk that took me into three valleys, Wet Sleddale (pictured), the incredibly remote Mosedale and the beautiful Swindale, a real discovery.

Three sheep

A ewe and her two lambs, in Mosedale

As of today, then, I have bagged 203 of the 214 Wainwright fells, thus have 11 to go. I have walked a total of 668.81 miles and ascended a total of approximately 194,442 feet.

I have five walks left, which I intend to do at the rate of one a month, in order to finish in January 2013 (just before I leave the country for five months – hence the deadline). If you’ll forgive me I’d like to start to push my sponsorship a bit more. Having been doing this for three years now I would like to try to use my efforts to raise some money for the Mountain Rescue teams in the Lakes and have set up a page on Just Giving by which donations can be made. If you’ve enjoyed this blog and want to encourage me to do these last five walks… please visit and donate, whatever you feel you can. Thank you.

2 Responses to “Longest remaining walk done, 11 fells to go”

  1. Simon lockyer said

    Great blog I finished the wainwrights about two months ago and I am now on with the outlyers. We have done Burney and then the Whit Fell Group. Buck Barrow and Kinmont Buckbarrow are worth a mention as they are rocky and as well as Black Combe should have been in the full Wainwrights. Hope you get them finished good luck. Think we will be getting wet in Eskdale this week. Simon

    • Drew Whitworth said

      Cheers Simon. I do intend to pick up some of the Outlying fells after I’ve done, certainly Black Combe & Whitfell and the Buckbarrows, also some in the Far East, near Shap. Something to sustain the relationship for a bit longer anyway!

Leave a Reply

